Follow us  
  • SSIB 2017

    25th Annual Meeting of the Society for the Study of Ingestive Behavior
    July 18 - 22, 2017
    Montreal, Quebec

    A series of seminal papers in our field, selected and introduced by SSIB members and available to all. The “classics” provide important historical context, both on the concepts upon which their work and hypotheses were based and on the results and standards of interpretation that the authors considered critical.

  • Join the SSIB

    Be part of the largest professional organization in the world devoted to basic scientific research on eating, drinking, and appetite.

    Membership Benefits

    • Significantly reduced registration fees for the annual meeting
    • Exclusive access to job and position postings by other members
    • Automatic posting privileges on our job and position listings
    • Exclusive access to our newsletter
    • Exclusive access to our member directory


The Society for the Study of Ingestive Behavior (SSIB) is 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to advancing scientific research on food and fluid intake and its associated biological, psychological and social processes.

The Society provides a multidisciplinary environment for the free exchange of ideas and information, and serves as a resource for scientific expertise and education on topics related to the study of ingestive behavior.

Latest News

ANE Call for Papers
January 9, 2017

Acta Neurobiologia Experimentalis invites investigators to submit original research articles and reviews that will contribute to the field of neuroscience and energy homeostasis. Prospective authors should send the intent letter (by the end of January 2017) containing brief paragraph describing the research/review for publication to the Lead Guest Editor: Dr. Krzysztof Czaja at

Click here for Author Guidelines


SSIB 2017
January 6, 2017

We are pleased to announce SSIB 2017 Abstract Submission and Registration is now open.

Click here for Registration Information & Fees.
Click here for Abstract Submission Guidelines.


2017 MARS Speakers
October 14, 2016

We are pleased to announce our 2017 MARS Speakers.

Larry Swanson
Eleftheria Maratos-Flier
Kevin Hall
France Bellisle

Click here for more details.


Classic 15 Now Available!
September 21, 2016

Gordon C. Kennedy and the Lipostatic Control of Eating.
Click here to view the classic.



In Memory

Upcoming Events