Follow us  
  • SSIB 2016

    24th Annual Meeting of the Society for the Study of Ingestive Behavior
    July 12 - 16, 2016
    Porto, Portugal

    A series of seminal papers in our field, selected and introduced by SSIB members and available to all. The “classics” provide important historical context, both on the concepts upon which their work and hypotheses were based and on the results and standards of interpretation that the authors considered critical.

  • Join the SSIB

    Be part of the largest professional organization in the world devoted to basic scientific research on eating, drinking, and appetite.

    Membership Benefits

    • Significantly reduced registration fees for the annual meeting
    • Exclusive access to job and position postings by other members
    • Automatic posting privileges on our job and position listings
    • Exclusive access to our newsletter
    • Exclusive access to our member directory


The Society for the Study of Ingestive Behavior (SSIB) is 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to advancing scientific research on food and fluid intake and its associated biological, psychological and social processes.

The Society provides a multidisciplinary environment for the free exchange of ideas and information, and serves as a resource for scientific expertise and education on topics related to the study of ingestive behavior.

Latest News

2017 MARS Speakers
October 14, 2016

We are pleased to announce our 2017 MARS Speakers.

Larry Swanson
Eleftheria Maratos-Flier
Kevin Hall
France Bellisle


Classic 15 Now Available!
September 21, 2016

Gordon C. Kennedy and the Lipostatic Control of Eating.
Click here to view the classic.


SSIB 2016 Election Results
July 21, 2016

We are pleased to welcome our new President-Elect and Board of Directors.

Robert Ritter, PhD

Board of Directors:
Roger Adan, PhD
Suzanne Dickson, PhD
Scott Kanoski, PhD
Megan Dailey, PhD


Proceedings of the SSIB 2015 Annual Meeting
June 30, 2016

The SSIB 2015 Special Issue of Physiology & Behavior is now available. It is freely available online during the course of the SSIB 2016 meeting and until September 7. Click here to view the issue.


Congratulations SSIB 2016 Awardees!
April 19, 2016

Distinguished Career Award: Barry Levin
Hoebel Prize for Creativity: Roger Adan
Alan N. Epstein Research Award: Matthew Hayes

Randall R. Sakai NITA Award: Samantha Fortin
George H. Collier NITA Award: Lindsey Schier

NITA Awards:

Alex Reichenbach
Amy Worth
Christina Potter
Emily Noble
Guido Camps
Jacob Brown
Kirk Manson
Laura Berner
Laura Rupprecht
Lena Tiedemann
Lorena Lopez Ferreras
Lynda Whiting
Maartje Spetter



In Memory

Upcoming Events