• SSIB 2015

    23rd Annual Meeting of the Society for the Study of Ingestive Behavior
    July 7 - July 11, 2015
    Denver, CO

    A series of seminal papers in our field, selected and introduced by SSIB members and available to all. The “classics” provide important historical context, both on the concepts upon which their work and hypotheses were based and on the results and standards of interpretation that the authors considered critical.

  • Join the SSIB

    Be part of the largest professional organization in the world devoted to basic scientific research on eating, drinking, and appetite.

    Membership Benefits

    • Significantly reduced registration fees for the annual meeting
    • Exclusive access to job and position postings by other members
    • Automatic posting privileges on our job and position listings
    • Exclusive access to our newsletter
    • Exclusive access to our member directory


The Society for the Study of Ingestive Behavior (SSIB) is 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to advancing scientific research on food and fluid intake and its associated biological, psychological and social processes.

The Society provides a multidisciplinary environment for the free exchange of ideas and information, and serves as a resource for scientific expertise and education on topics related to the study of ingestive behavior.

Latest News

Check out more news postings

Call for Materials
August 19, 2014

Please send Fall Newsletter materials to Editor, Karen Ackroff, at kackroff@gc.cuny.edu. The Deadline for materials is October 6th.

Thank you to Board Members and Officers
August 15, 2014

Alan Watts (SSIB President) would like to thank the following officers for their service to the society: Suzanne Higgs (President-Elect), Barry Levin (Past-President), Derek Daniels (Secretary), and Ruth Harris (Treasurer). Alan would also like to thank the following board members: Diana Williams (Board Member), Bob Ritter (Board Member), Margriet Westerterp (Board Member), Dana Small (Board Member), Kevin Myers (Board Member), Christine Feinle-Bisset (Board Member), Mitch Roitman (Board Member), Kellie Tamashiro (Board Member), Harry Kissileff (Honorary Board Member), and Sara Hargrave (Student Representative).

SSIB 2014 Distinguished Career Award
August 15, 2014

Ralph Norgren, PhD was honored for his outstanding accomplishments in, and contributions to, the understanding of ingestive behavior.

SSIB 2014 Alan N. Epstein Research Award
August 15, 2014

Kellie Tamashiro, PhD was honored for her recent work which has made significant contributions to the field of ingestive behavior.

SSIB 2014 Hoebel Prize For Creativity
August 15, 2014

Alan Spector, PhD was honored for his recent work which has made significant contributions to the field of ingestive behavior.

August 15, 2014

Click here to view the SSIB 2014 New Investigator Travel Award Winners (NITA) Sponsored in part by: Novo Nordisk.

8th Installment of Ingestive Classics
July 15, 2014

The 8th installment of INGESTIVE CLASSICS is now available.