Follow us  
  • SSIB 2019

    27th Annual Meeting of the Society for the Study of Ingestive Behavior
    July 9 - 13, 2019
    Utrecht, Netherlands

    A series of seminal papers in our field, selected and introduced by SSIB members and available to all. The “classics” provide important historical context, both on the concepts upon which their work and hypotheses were based and on the results and standards of interpretation that the authors considered critical.

  • Join the SSIB

    Be part of the largest professional organization in the world devoted to basic scientific research on eating, drinking, and appetite.

    Membership Benefits

    • Significantly reduced registration fees for the annual meeting
    • Exclusive access to job and position postings by other members
    • Automatic posting privileges on our job and position listings
    • Exclusive access to our newsletter
    • Exclusive access to our member directory


The Society for the Study of Ingestive Behavior (SSIB) is 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to advancing scientific research on food and fluid intake and its associated biological, psychological and social processes.

The Society provides a multidisciplinary environment for the free exchange of ideas and information, and serves as a resource for scientific expertise and education on topics related to the study of ingestive behavior.

SSIB strongly affirms the principles of equal treatment and equal rights for all people. SSIB welcomes scientists of all races, gender identifications, creeds, and nationalities as members of our society, and we encourage and support the free movement of scientists from all countries for the purposes of advancing knowledge and understanding.

Latest News

Congratulations 2019 Conference Award Winners

Timothy J. Bartness Award:Kevin Williams

Gerard P. Smith Award:
Nitsan Goldstein
Jennifer Sadler

Harry R. Kissileff Award:
Elizabeth Davis
Alaina Pearce

Best Poster Presentation Award:
Carolina Cawthon
Menna Price


Congratulations SSIB 2019 Awardees

Distinguished Career Award: Margriet Westerterp-Plantenga
Hoebel Prize for Creativity: Suzanne Higgs
Alan N. Epstein Research Award: Carrie Ferrario

Randall R. Sakai NITA Award: Ted Hsu
George H. Collier NITA Award: Iris Duif

NITA Awards:

Vida Bitarafan
Bernd Coester
Michael Farruggia
Samantha Fortin
Nitsan Goldstein
Jiyoung Kim
Laura Koekkoek
Alastair MacDonald
Monja Neuser
Alaina Pearce
Jennifer Sadler
Andrea Suarez
Anthony Tsang


Proceedings of the SSIB 2018 Annual Meeting

The SSIB 2018 Special Issue of Physiology & Behavior is now available. It is freely available online during the course of the SSIB 2019 meeting and until the end of July. Click here to view the issue.



Upcoming Events

In Memory

John (Jack)
D. Davis,

Joseph Lee